Practice Practice Practice – que de la pratique

A blistering cold wind blows outside my windows. Despite the sun, this is an incentive to stay indoors.  

What to do? Well – I am getting into portraiture, and I do have a new toy, ahem, tool,  to entertain myself with.

imcculloch_teadybear_capt5

Un vent glacial souffle à l’extérieure et malgré le beau soleil, j’ai aucune envie d’aller dehors dans ces températures. Comme on dit par chez nous: ” Y fa frette”.  Que faire? Bien, j’ai un nouveau jouet – voir outil – avec quoi m’amuser.

I set up my flashes in a corner of my living room, and used one of my curtains as the backdrop.

Un coin de mon salon est devenu un studio. Un rideau fourni le fond de scène.

My cats, unfortunately, do not appreciate having their portrait taken, especially if a flash is involved.  I need another subject; I need one that won’t complain.  Teddy bears. Perfect. I knew I had to have a reason to keep them for so long!  Since the bear can’t sit up by himself, I had to be resourceful.  I used my circle of friends candle holder to prop him up.  Perhaps one day I’ll get my hands on a proper stand for product photography.

Mes chattes, malheursement, n’aiment pas se faire prendre en portrait, et surtout si un flash  est utilisé. Il me faut donc un autre sujet qui ne se plaindra pas.  Un vieux toutou ! Enfin une raison de les avoir gardés ci longtemps! Toutou ne se tient pas assis sans aide, alors mon chandelier “cercle d’amis” fournit le support requis.  Un jour je pourrais peut-être avoir un meilleur appui pour la photo de produit.

Here are the results of my portrait tests using the teddy bear.  Dust and cat hair included.  I am afraid of putting him in the washer at his age!

Voici le résultat de mes essaies en utilisant le vieux toutou. Poussière et poils de chats inclus.  J’ai peur de le mettre dans la laveuse à son âge!

I am not crazy about the red curtain – a trip to Value Village for a neutral coloured one is on my list of things to do.  In the meantime, I have a red curtain. I attempted, in Lightroom, to tone down the reds in one of the shots.

Le rideau rouge ne m’épate pas vraiment, mais pour le moment c’est le rideau que j’ai. En attendant une petite excursion au Village des Valeurs, j’ai essayé de jouer avec les rouges dans une des prises en post-prod.

I would love to see some of your test portrait shots – feel free to link to your blog in the comments.

J’aimerais bien voir vos essaies – n’hésitez pas à partager le lien vers votre blogue dans les commentaires.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

